Thursday, March 26, 2026

Solo BM Tour 💩

 Solo BM Tour 💩..... No, not BM like poopie, BM as in base miles. 😁 Solo 34 miles. Pushed hard on a couple sections reaching 180 bpm as a heart rate. I think my max should be 157 but hey! Got 5 PRs, I'll take it. 👍 Beautiful day!

I did see Jason A on the trail again. About the 4th or 5th time I's seen him in about the exact same place as the other few times. Hadn't seen him in years but recently, several times. Funny though, we must both keep tight schedules because every time I see him, it's in the exact spot ha ha ha! He might not even recognize me as when we pass, the last couple times I shouted JASON and he looked back kind of puzzled. Today I shouted his name again then the second passing, I shouted MR. BEANZ ha ha ha! He was like number 5 for the longest time on the GMR segments till the Tour Of California hit town.  Met on the cycling forums back in early 2000s. Great climber. I remember he showed up late on a forum ride with about 30 people. I was riding sweep with Gina when he went by, stopped introducing himself then got back on his bike and passed everyone before they reached the village ha ha ha!

Funny thing was that there was some big mouth arrogant dude on the forums, think he went by something like EMD (?). His real name was Steve. One of the dude saying if you don' race or use a powermeter, then you're nothing. So I asked Jason if he used all that fancy stuff and all he said was that you don't need that stuff and he only uses a heartrate monitor. So he signed up for the Mt. Everest Challenge as an general population rider, forgot the term.  But he was ahead of the big mouth dude but flatted. So he got off, repaired his flat then got back on and passed the big mouth dude again finishing ahead of him by like 30 minutes or so ha ha ha! Love that story! But anyway, saw Jason again today.

Posers are out. Saw a rider that I hadn't seen in quite a while and really different stuff on Strava as far as activities. Of course being about that time of the year when the poseurs start coming out, she's out. Short rides but I will say, at least it's a ride even though I think the main purpose is to use big boobs to attract viewers. Maybe even one of those pay to watch chicks ha ha ha!

Now for the stupid truck driver. There is a bike crossing with a light and a crosswalk near the Santa Fe Dam at the top of the trail, Live Oak I think. There is a light to stop traffic but I myself don't see the sense in using the light stopping traffic. I mean stopping 10 to 15 cars, several semis to cross the road. What I do is wait till there is a break in traffic then go through. Most times it will be clear but every now and then I see another group coming so I will go through knowing I have plenty of time rather than push the button stopping another 10 cars. I feel for the semis, having to stop so a cyclist can use 5 seconds to get across.

So actually, I'm being considerate to traffic. But today, plenty of cars so I waited, never against a little break to catch my breath. I saw the opening, totally clear on one side then a semi about 75 yards away. So I ride my bike across the crosswalk within 5 seconds or so which is all it will take me to cross, I'm a fast starter from a dead stop having my technique down. But as I am in the middle of the crosswalk, the semi driver is about 75 yards away when I hear him step on the accelerator knowing so as I hear his engine gunning up. 

Uhhh, OK! I'm across then as he approaches, he starts honking his horn. OK, you know what mother fukker, take a good look at my finger ha ha ha! He's already passing but starts honking more after seeing my finger I am sure. Heck, wish he would have stopped so I could have choked him or used his face like a punching bag ha ha ha!

Well, actually I would have explained to the moron that he should be a little more respectful when someone is doing him a favor which was keeping him from stopping. He would have been fine just rolling through at a steady pace. Another truck behind him and hoping he knows the guy so he tell hem what an asshole he is knowing I did them a favor keeping them from stopping.

Well heck, next time I'll just push the button and stop a whole gang of cars and trucks. Maybe I'll push it twice just because the guy was an ass hole ha ha ha!






Got a little red lining in there today but a good effort and some strava PR's. 😁



Hey alright! I pushed myself on this segment just realizing it was a segment a couple weeks back.  Not bad for an almost 63 year Old Fart. 😆

Number 1 out of  30 in my weight class THIS YEAR

My HR was 146 on this segment but today, I topped out at 183 on a different segment. Had I planned it a little better, I could have pushed even harder on this segment. Now if I wait for a tailwind and push 180, I think I might move up some he he he!


Number 30 out of 900 riders in my weight class.




Sweet! I have this jersey from about 7 years ago but only worn it a handful of times. But it's my favorite and packed away in storage with about 6 other rather new jerseys. 2 units and I would not know where to start to find them. These jerseys worn maybe 3 or 4 times. But I found this one, Bone Collector jersey on the Primal website on sale for $20. Only had one and it was my size. I think I paid $55 back then 7 years ago, on sale. So this is cool, like getting my favorite jersey back for $20. By the time I get the rest of my other jerseys out of storage, they'll be collector's items. 😆


I will say this, time is flying by. Looking on my blog for an image of the jersey, it was 7 years back. I would swear it was only a couple years back. Wow!




I see so many motor cycle riders, I guess they call them e-bikes, on the road nowadays that I'm considering this jersey ha ha ha! Like I have told friends, I will NEVER ride a bike with a motor on it for recreation and/or exercise. I'd rather propel my self under my own power. That's just me! 😉

If I'm 90 years old without a license and can't drive any longer but need groceries, maybe but not for exercise. Sorry but some of the people I know riding motors nowadays were the types that avoid hills and wind. Me, that's part of the workout and if I can no longer ride a bike, I'll take up walking.



No comments:

Post a Comment